The Reader Question Challenge

So I’ve been aimlessly footling around the Internet Today  and I decided to do a book tag.

I found this tag originally here. And the author of that blog found it here. I could follow it up to its origin but I think I’ve reference it enough.

The first comment on this revealed the creator of the tag: https://jackiesmith114.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/reader-questionnaire/

Onto the tag:

What is your favorite book?
I personally don’t like thinking of specific books as my favorites. I probably would if there was one particular genre of books that I loved and stuck to but I don’t. I read mostly everything. So I find invariably that whenever I declare a book to be my favorite, others judge me by it. But hey, this is a tag so I’ll try and name one:

What are your goals? For the year? For your life?
For the year? I’d like to go to the US to study International Relations and/or Journalism. I’ve already applied. For my life? Chief would be to finish my current top-secret project and publish it. But that’s quite a ways away.

Are you a writer? If so tell me about your work.
Yes I am a writer. Wait, are you a writer if you aren’t officially published outside a blog? Well anyway, I do consider myself a writer, albeit an amateur. I started writing when I was 13 years old, starting with free verse poetry. I then moved onto more poetry and some short stories before attempting my first novel about three years back. Sadly, I lost interest halfway and since I’ve been sticking to poems and very recently, non-fiction blog posts. Also, wrote a couple of short stories.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I would love to go to New York. I can’t explain why but for some reason, I just want to live there. And inhale all the pollution it can throw at me.

What was the last movie you saw in the theatre and was it worthwhile?

Frankly, I’m not a theatre goer. All my movie watching is done completely at home. Not that I don’t like theatres. In fact I would probably live in one if I could but there aren’t any near where I live. This is Sri Lanka and not the capital Colombo so, theatres that don’t show 24/7 bollywood movies are a rarity. The last movie I watched at home was:

And yes, it was well worth it.

Are there any books that you’ve tried to complete but just couldn’t?
Yes. Sadly. The Great Classic Pride And Prejudice by Jane Austen was the only book that I picked up and couldn’t finish. I love the story but the book unfortunately was too (pardon me) dull for me to continue. There are, I know, a lot of people that have loved the book immensely and I envy them. I wish I could have sat through it. But I couldn’t.

Are you currently working on a new book/project?
Yes. Kind of. It’s a really really really new project and I think unlike the myriad ideas I’ve had, worked on constantly yet invariably given up in the past, this one will be different.

If you could live in any of your favorite books which would you choose?
I know the book I first wanted to live in: HARRY POTTER obviously and I do still want to live in it. But if manga qualify as books (I think they do) then the universe of Naruto (however much I’ve railed against it in the past) would be my number one ‘universe to live in’. Sorry.

Are there any book-to-movie adaptions you loved? Any that you hated?
The best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve seen so far is…The Remains of The Day. The novel by Kazuo Ishiguro won the Booker Prize in 1989 and the movie adaptation in 1993 was one of the most brilliant AND faithful to source material film I’ve seen. As for book-to-movie adaptations I hated…well yes. The Fault in our Stars. For me the book didn’t much, not as much as John Greens previous books and the film cut so much out that it made an already kind of cliched story even more cliched. At least that’s what I felt.

What do you look for in a book that you want to read? What’s the first thing to capture your attention?
You can’t judge a book by it’s cover apparently but so far in my 19 years of life, that’s honestly exactly what I judge books by. The covers is the first thing that gets my attention. Which explains why I actually haven’t read many blockbuster books like the Hunger Games, The Divergent Series and even The Lord of The Rings books. The cover’s I’ve seen have put me off and I don’t want to buy a book with a cover I hate looking at.

If you’re an author, what do you first do when you get an idea for a book?
I’m not an author. Yet. But I have gotten ideas for books in the past and whenever I have, I’ve always just whipped out my awesome memory skills and deposited the idea there for future use. I don’t tend to write it down because once I do, it qualifies as a legitimate start (at least in my mind) and most of the time, the fact that I start on an idea puts me off it. I know, my brain probably hates me.

How do you feel about different genres? Any favorites? Any least favorites?
I read quite a lot of genres truth be told. Ranging from fantasy adventure to dystopian sci-fi to traditional sci-fi to murder/crime as well as YA and even the occasional drama. And I also read children’s books from time to time. I can’t really pin point a favorite but I can definitely pin point my least favorite. ROMANCE. But not all romance. Romance of Nicholas Sparks (forgive me) variety. I absolutely can’t stand it.

If you could meet any writer, dead or alive, who would it be?
Haruki Murakami. And Kazuo Ishiguro. And Also Arundhati Roy. After that I think I’d have serious health problems to be seeing other authors.

Fiction or Non-fiction?
I generally prefer fiction but I do read non-fiction occasionally.

Are there any characters that everyone loves that you can’t stand? Or vice versa?
Hazel Lancaster from The Fault in our Stars. Don’t ask me to explain myself. Also, Augustus Waters from the same book. I personally think that that boko would have been a thousand times better if it was about Isaac.

What do you like to do besides reading/writing?
Watching anime. I love anime. Also playing the piano. I self-taught myself enough to be able to no embarrass myself with it.

If you could be remembered for one thing what it would be?
You don’t get to choose who remembers you or what you’re remembered for. All you can do is do something and hope for the best. That being said, I’d like to be remembered for being true.

What is your guilty pleasure book?

Do you have a reading goal set for this year?
Yes I do. For this first time actually. My goal is 65 which is a lot but if you read as fast as me, then you’d do the same, probably even higher.

Tell me anything about yourself that I haven’t asked. A random fact.
I talk to myself when I’m alone. Like a lot. I have conversations by imagining myself in other’s shoes, both real peoples’ and fictional characters’.

And since this is a tag. I now tag….basically everyone who reads this. But I’m not forcing you. Answering 20 questions about yourself is actually more challenging than you think. Oh wait, is that why they call this a challenge?

8 thoughts on “The Reader Question Challenge

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks LGBTQ laws, news, and life.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

