The Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

Like the previous challenge/tag I did, I found this on BluChickenNinja. And the author of that blog found it on BookieMonsters. BookieMonsters found it on The Dream Land Book Blog and that author found it on TheLibraryOfSarah who apparently created the TAG 🙂

That’s enough backtracking. Basically, you photograph/video books that correspond to certain criteria. Sorry if I just made that sound incredibly boring, I can do that.

So without further ado, ONTO THE TAG/CHALLENGE:

Find an author’s name or title with the letter ‘Z’ in it:

WP_20150208_6188

I chose Kazuo Ishiguro’s ‘Never Let Me Go’, a book that I read and fell in love with just a few months ago (I think about five months ago).

Find a Classic:

WP_20150208_4567

For this I chose Thomas Hardy’s ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’. I’m still reading this and despite my usual aversion to long, small-print classics, this books is actually pretty good.

Find a book with a key on it:

WP_20150208_5562

Dan Brown’s ‘Lost Symbol’. It’s not a typical key but it’s a key nonetheless. I don’t read Dan Brown anymore, I don’t like his writing styles anymore but the fact remains that this book cover has a key in it.

Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book:

WP_20150208_7017

I have a figure of Nausicaa, the heroine of the Studio Ghibli film the ‘Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind’. Actually it’s not an official Studio Ghibli film since the studio was founded after the film was released but it was the same people under a different name. I got this on my recent excursion to Japan. (Recent being five months ago)

Find the Oldest Book in your bookshelf:

WP_20150208_8884

I took ‘Oldest’ to mean the book I’ve had for the longest. Well here it is: ‘Famous Five’ by Enid Blyton. This book is so old that this edition went out of print well before  2000 I think. I’ve had it since 1997. It originally belonged to my oldest cousin but then she bequeathed it to moi. I grew up with the Famous Five. Ah, memories.

Find a book with a girl on the cover:

WP_20150208_8026

‘The Secret Garden by France Hodgson Burnett. This is the first unabridged classic I read. I read it when I was only in 3rd grade I think. Yes. It’s a small book anyhow. Maybe I should read it again.

Find a book with a boy on the cover:

WP_20150208_756

I was in a dilemma here. On on hand I could go with HARRY FRICKING POTTER but then I decided to save that for later and go with this: ‘The Kite Runner’, Khaled Hosseini’s best-selling novel that opened 7 billion eyes around the world. Genius.

Find a book that has an animal on it:

WP_20141114_2652

‘The Goldfinch’ by Donna Tartt. It’s not a complete animal of course but it’s good enough I think. That’s not a tear by the way. It’s the actual cover. I started reading this two months ago but then the size of it put me off and I still haven’t resumed reading it.

Find a book with a male protagonist:

WP_20150208_8635

‘Harry Potter’. I do have more books (upto the fifth) but I decided to go with the first for the sake of my old memories. I first read this when I was in 3rd grade. And then had nightmares about Quirrell’s head.

Find a book with only words on the cover:

WP_20150208_2991

‘A beautiful mind’ by Sylvia Nasar is the beautiful biography of genius mathematician John Nash who won the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1997. This is the book behind the 2001 movie. I don’t usually read biographies but when I saw this, it was all I could do to not read it right there in the bookshop.

Find a book with illustrations in it:

WP_20150208_9547WP_20150208_1275

The Narnia series. Duh. Actually I’ve only the first four. The first three I have are in this big three-in-one monument that I got when I was 14. I loved it obviously.

Find a book with gold lettering.

WP_20150208_7035

You may not see it clearly but this book has gold lettering. ‘Only time will tell’ by Jeffrey Archer is one of the most amazing stories I’ve read. It’s the first in the series. Unfortunately I’ve not been able to find the rest…

Find a diary (fiction/non-fiction)

WP_20150208_7987

I went with this one for the lack of any other diary book. This book is a diary of a Sri Lankan guy who’s just starting out at a hospital as in intern in America. It’s much in the same way as ‘The House of God’. The book is crude, funny and vulgar and really doesn’t contribute much in the way of intelligent literature. But I still like it.

Find a book written by someone with a common name:

WP_20150208_9517

David’s a common name right? Of course it is. Though Levithan…not so much.

Find a book that has a close-up of something:

WP_20150208_1789

That’s an incredibly close up closeup of an eye. Urgh.

Find a book on your bookshelf that takes place in the earliest time place

WP_20150208_4059

R.K Narayan’s version of ‘The Mahabharata’, the great Indian Epic chronicling all the indian legends, myths and even the origins of some hindu deities.

Find a hardcover without a jacket:

WP_20150208_7202

Finding a hardcover book? Pfft easy. Finding a hardcover without a jacket? A whole other challenge. So this is the one I found. I did find one other but it fits in another category. ‘Kidnapped’ by R.L Stevenson is a heck of a story.

Find a teal/turquoise book:

WP_20150208_4883

The top is turquoise, it counts right? I’ve not read this yet but I must soon.

Find a book with stars in it:

WP_20150208_3839

One of my favorite books, ‘Jepp who defied the stars’ by Katherine Marsh. This book is about defying destinies and carving out your own path and it’s also about dwarves. An accidental find but a great one still.

A non YA book:

WP_20150208_3059

Most of my bookshelf is actually comprised of non YA books but for the sake of this challenge, I’ll pick ONE that I think is one the most non-YA books: ‘The Reader’ by Bernhard Schlink. Read it, it’s good. Like knock your socks off good.

Find the longest book you own:

WP_20150208_2948

‘The Luminaries’ by Eleanor Catton is a whopping 828 pages long. E’nuff said.

Find the shortest book you own:

WP_20150208_8089

The other hardcover without a jacket: ‘Tales of Beedle the Bard’ by J. K Rowling. It’s really really really really short.

Find a book with multiple POVs:

WP_20150208_3741

The entire Song of Ice and Fire series I suppose but the second book is the only one I actually have. All others I borrowed from my friends. And no I read the books before I watched the series. And yes I like them both. But seriously, when is the next book going to come out Mr. Martin? Huh? HUH?

Find a shiny book:

WP_20150208_3094

This is on this list because there weren’t any other shiny books on my shelf. A book that I absolutely despise. Not because I have issue wit atheism but because of the way it’s written. It’s inflammatory, extremely insulting to all those who are religious and just very very insensitive.

And Finally, find a book with flowers in it.

WP_20150208_7154

Rather than feature a romance novel, here’s Stephen King for you.

Lessons: (Wow it’s been some time since I Learned a Lesson)

1. I have like a LOT of books.

2. When your books fall off your mini-shelf on your desk because of lack of space, it’s a sign for you to move them over to the BIG shelf in the common area. Yes even the one you drew doodles all over when you were young.

Accomplishment.

I TAG EVERYONE WHO READS THIS! But again, it’s not like I’m forcing you to do this. I acknowledge your free will fellow humans.

One thought on “The Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

