A week’s worth of posts.

It’s been a week since I last posted but then again, I don’t think I’ll be able to make a super long post to compensate.

  • I’ve been falling in love with Ed Sheeran’s Album X
  • I read four whole books; When we were orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro, One Day by David Nicholls, South of the Border West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami and Swimming in the Monsoon Sea by Shyam Selvadurai.
  • And I also picked up a new book. The 2014 Man Booker Prize Winner The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan.

    WP_20150224_8091

  • I also watched Whiplash. That 2014 movie about Drumming in an orchestra as opposed to Drumming in a rock band.

Let’s see what else?

  • I made a CV, wrote an essay and basically spent the week in total relaxation.

Hmmm…

  • Oh yes I also learnt to play the opening of Gatchaman Crowds on the piano and am currently learning how to play the opening to Anohana. I have to say that this opening is actually one of the hardest I’ve ever come across. Working out the chords and accompaniment seem like it’s take some time.

 

I loved When We Were Orphans. Despite my not being able to read it at a stretch for some reason, I loved it.

I liked South of the Border, West of the Sun. It was good but it honestly doesn’t seem much different from Murakami’s other works. All the same, I liked it.

One Day was also good but I guess the movie kind of spoiled the books for me. But I like the book better.

Swimming in the Monsoon Sea was okay. I’ve read Shyam Selvadurai’s Funny Boy and The Hungry Ghosts and both those had a rawness to them that just blew me away. This was actually quite a bit more less intense and vaguely disappointing. And the themes in this book are pretty much the same as in his others so.

I mean one can only be enthralled for so long with a one-trick pony.

Whiplash was a brilliant movie. It had some stereotypical characters, the asshole of a conductor being one (how many times haven’t we seen the jerk teacher who is a jerk only because he wants to see his students succeed?) but overall, it was well produced and directed. The soundtrack, chiefly containing jazz tracks kinda blew me away and Miles Teller’s acting was brilliant.

I also kinda felt sorry for the many drum kits abused in that movie. They had blood spilt on them, they got punched in, kicked at, thrown away and basically just abused. My heartfelt thoughts go out to them.

Lessons:

1. Music is hard. Just plain hard. No doubt about it. You may want to be able to play the amazing song from that amazing anime you watched but the truth is, you may never figure out the chord patterns. Sniff

Accomplishment

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

