Books, Cricket and King Coconut Water (back to the triple titles I see)

So yesterday I went to the library (yes that really was the highlight of my day).

Hence BOOK HAUL:

A book I’d seen quite frequently lying there on the shelves at my go-to bookshop. And then when I found it nestled in quietly in the library bookshelf, my hand just moved on its own.

This is a book I’ve been so looking forward to. I only recently stumbled on literature from my own country (shocking, I know) but since I did, I’ve read a fair few. Funny Boy, Hungry Ghosts and Swimming in the Monsoon Sea by Shyam Selvadurai. English Translation of Madol Doova by Martin Wickramasinghe. And also Jam Fruit Tree and Maudiegirl and the Von Bloss Kitchen by THE Carl Muller. So naturally I was recommended this book by my sister and I was only too delighted to find it there in the library.

So I heard of the movie first but after I read some not too encouraging reviews of the movie, my interest in watching it kind of died. Then I found out that it’s a book and well, obviously I wanted to get my hands on it.

But frankly, it’s the cover that got me back there in the library. Isn’t this the most amazing cover you’ve ever seen? Huh?

And finally:

I’ve never heard of this before and it was chiefly the cover that attracted me to it. Those muted covers in that understatedly poignant picture of a child running across a potentially accident-causing car seemed to just latch onto my reader self and beckon me to pick it up.

And the endless metaphorical resonances of the clothesline. (Not really)

I’m already half-way done with Colpetty People and it’s proving quite wonderful.

As for things that happened today, I just sat in front of the TV watching the Sri Lankan cricket team kind of destroy the Bangladesh Cricket team in the ICC Cricket World Cup (I’m a cricket fan. The overly-analytical and cynical type. Not the shout-my-lungs-out-at-the-TV-while-dressed-in-a-Lankan-Cricket-Tshirt type)

Lessons:

1. Nothing serves as a better accompaniment to your standard rice-and-curry lunch than a cold glass of King Coconut Water. Or as we say in sinhala thambili wathura. Or just thambili for colloquialization’s sake. Incidentally, thambili is also the sinhala word for orange which is the color of King Coconut. Much like how in english, oranges are orange colored. Except you know. Well, yes you do know. Languages man. Languages.

Accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

