Whoa. Lessons.

I’ve been busy the last three days downloading an anime. I obviously can’t reveal the anime cause then it will just spoil the grand reveal. I will say this though: It’s neither sad, poignant no so elegantly poised between cheerful and downright depressing.

It’s chaotic, mad, funny and has graphic violence. Some of you may know what it is but then again, maybe none of my readers (I’m being optimistic in using the plural, or even hopeful) are that much into anime.

I completed Colpetty People and Ashok Ferrey and I have to say it was kind of a disappointment.

The stories were delightful (most of them) and there were only a few that felt forced out of the writer’s thinking cap. My issue is with the whole book in general. I believe that short story collections should be put together because the stories have some sort of common element other than the writer.

I’ve read Haruki Murakami’s Blind Willow Sleeping Woman as well as numerous short story collections by Jeffrey Archer (how good is he?) and I’m using them as standards for comparison. Obviously there’s the whole argument that different writers can’t be compared because of uniqueness and stuff and yes, it’s true but to me, a short story collection should have a common thread. Whether it be writing style, setting, theme or even some mundane thing like time of main event occurrences in story.

So Colpetty People was vaguely disappointing but Alex Benzie’s The Angle of Incidence is proving to be an excellent read. It’s a big book and I’m wondering I might be able to finish all four of my borrowed books by the 18th this month.

Other than that let’s see….

I’ve been having a go at writing more stories. I repeat, having a go, which in no way amounts to completing. (sigh)

On what I did today….

I went on Legend of Korra binge. I have seasons 2,3,4 on my computer in brilliant 720p HD. Naturally all three seasons would require more than a day but one season doesn’t. So I chose season 4 AND, I watched it in 3D cause you know, if you have a TV that can convert those amazing bending moves into even more amazing 3D bending moves, well, GAWD you’re not going to spend the day watching Legend of Korra in ordinary 2D.

Although my eyes are itchy. 6+ hours of continuous 3D watching will do that.

Lessons:

1. It’s time for something even more lighthearted and refreshing than the last anime I watched. Which is Toradora!. Because I’ve been spending too much time agonizing over this insanely beautifully sad anime that literally made me cry. I mean the series was bad enough but the movie which was sort of an immediate sequel just opened up so many wounds that I literally just broke down there at 3.00AM in my room day before yesterday.

2. Short stories don’t belong in a collection if they don’t go together. For me that is. I think there are quite a lot of people out there who actually prefer disjointed and disconnected short stories in a collection. What can I say? Humans.

3. Too much 3D is obviously bad. I mean when you want to scratch your eyes till they fucking bleed, you’ve got a problem. You’ve also got a problem when your eyes look as if you haven’t slept in a month. I mean you have  dark circles around your eyes a mile in diameter and no amount of moisturizer is going to moisturize that really dry area around your eyes. Clearly I need to consult expert help; my mom.

Accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

