How I read (BOOK TAG)

I first found this tag on BookieMonsters and because there’s a huge backload of back-tracking one must accomplish to ferret out the origins of this tag, well here goes.

How do you find out about new books to read?

It’s mostly aimless browsing through libraries and bookstores. I generally tend to avoid adding books to my TBR based on web reviews or recommendations. Obviously, this closes out a lot of options for me in terms sheer numbers of books I read but when I pick a book from a shelf, I can ensure that it’s a book that I’ll like or love. Even algorithm-driven recommendation systems online can’t be accurate.

How did you get into reading?
I have a theory that maybe I was born with the book in my hand. Like right there, when the doctor delivered me, he was astounded by this really fat baby (I was a fat fat baby) holding this book up high as he opened his eyes to the background of an ethereal chorus. Joking aside, I was pretty much reading books even before I officially started school. And TV was absolutely abhorred in my household (still is mostly) so BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS. My birthday presents tended to be Bookshop Gift Vouchers. Which we loved obviously.

How has your taste in books changed as you’ve grown older?
Pretty normally. I’ve always been well adjusted (as a reader/bookworm) which meant I usually didn’t try to fill my head with material way above my reading/education/age level. So it’s an average spectrum I suppose, although I did avoid obviously the recent Female Teenage Action Heroine type a la Hunger Games so other than a few outlying points on the plot, it’s an average change pattern.

How often do you buy books?


Way too often. I literally have a backlog of about five or six books, not counting my recent borrowings from the library, on my TBR not to mention about three e-books on my iPad. I’ve slowed down these couple of months but there was a time where I would go to a bookstore about four times a month and buy at least one book each time. I’m more careful now.

How did you get into book reviewing?
Well I started this blog I started a blog exclusively for Book reviews on JUX.com. It was a free blog hosting website with a really cool community of users with a lot of sleek design options. It wasn’t as far-reaching as WordPress obviously but it had regular users. I actually reviewed quite a few books there until JUX.com shut down because they couldn’t manage decent enough profits. Since then, I haven’t really done any SERIOUS BOOK REVIEWING although I have done a couple on Goodreads. As for a reason why I started reviewing, I was searching around for an idea for a blog which I could update with constant, original content and because I loved reading so much, why not review my reads?

How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?


I fling the book away from to as far away from myself as possible. Mentally. I don’t abuse books, even those with ending I deplore but yeah, I react pretty strongly. My face maybe blank but my brain is shouting and railing and basically raining hellfire on the book.

How often do you take a sneak peek at the end of a book to see if it has a good ending?
Usually never but unlike my fellow colleagues (both of reading and non-reading variety) content doesn’t get spoilt for me. I’m one of those rare people that can keep reading the same book, watching the same movie/TV show/anime, keep playing the same game regardless of the fact I know everything that happens. But even so I don’t try to peek at the end, I’m a firm believer in the Integrity Of The Book As Designated By The Author so, I try to respect his/her wishes as to how the books should be read.

Sorry for the long answers, I tend to ramble on and on when I talk about reading.
Anyone who sees this, is interested by this (yeah right) is welcome to DO THIS TAG. SO GO DO IT PEOPLE.

One thought on “How I read (BOOK TAG)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

