Why people write: an insider look into some writer-brain-mind things.

So a while ago, I saw this article on the ninth life, which is an amazing blog by the way that talks about inspiration and optimism, sort of a regular reminder to not throw in the towel and give up in this massive rat race of a world we live in. I discovered through the marvel of the WordPress Reader (really, where else?).

So the article (if you didn’t click on that link above) is about how K.L, the author of the blog, was prompted by a friend to look at why she writes. As in write articles, write a blog and basically just write for creative purposes (not grocery lists). And after I read it, I was struck by the knowledge that people start writing and continue with it for various reasons. For example: even though someone only writes when he/she gets the drunk doldrums, someone else may only write because he/she was inspired by the beauty in flowers because A. They are pretty and B. They die pretty quickly (wow that got kinda deep kinda fast, isn’t there some popular internet phrase to laugh at that? GOT IT, THAT ESCALATED FAST!) so basically, what I’m saying is not everyone writes for the same damn reason. DEAL WITH IT.

So this sudden knowledge got me curious and made me want to ASK people why they write. But how do I put that in a post? (by this time I was filled with an evangelical zeal and determination to make a post out of this question). Well this blog, by a very awesome friend of mine (in real life no less!) gave me the answer: ONE CHUBBY BLOB. In her post she writes about the different perceptions of love people have and basically lists all the answers different human beings gave when she asked people ‘what do you feel love is?’.

So here’s me ever so coolly and fashionably RIPPING that idea off as a nod of appreciation and encouragement and listing some answers from some writers I KNOW about why they write. These answers are mainly from Twitter and Facebook (actually, they’re only from Twitter and Facebook because the actual number of people I know is limited to two social media platforms)

So the Question: Why Do You Write?

And the answers:

Saritha: instagram poetess of kickass awesomeness

I write because I feel like sometimes, I make more sense on paper. That when words threaten to fall short, I feel like inking it onto paper explains things better, puts things into perspective. It’s my favourite vice, and I think it helps me understand myself better too. writing has helped me get over some of the worst and best experiences. And it’s a beautiful kaleidoscopic view yeah? Because writing really helps you empathize with people, and I think every person has a story waiting to be told. It helps you see the different sides to the story, all the possibilities. And I love that that allows me to live so many lives on just one page.


Zulaiha: writer, medicine student and all around smiler

I write… so that I can remember who I am. Well, I write to explore myself. I write because I don’t know how not to. I write to move on. I write to forget. I write to know I’m better than I was a minute ago.


Simi: Author of novels and avid photographer, physician and armchair psychologist

 I write because I love to.


Sajith: writer, gamer, beard-er and one time (or more?) motorbike daredevil.

 I write because it acts as a form of release. A way to act out my innate fatasies, all these twisted knots of feelings and thoughts I have. It’s this…almost instinctual way to pour out stuff, make sense of things. I write because it makes me HAPPY.


Aaron: TV/Movie writer. Actor. Stand Up Comedian. Author.

I write because I don’t know any other way to live. The art of storytelling is something that is deeply rooted in my heart and brain…Writing helps me escape when I need to and helps others escape vicariously through the words that I put on paper or on screen. I write because it is how I hope to better the world. I write because it is my obligation.


Nicole: writer, blogger, inspirer, original tweet maker

I write to help encourage, inspire, and offer support to those who are struggling and those who are supporting someone who is struggling.


Zeeshan: penguin, writer and fanboy of a certain Mr. Federer

 I think anything I write nowadays is me trying to keep the things in my mind from taking too much of a hold on me, I don’t want to be consumed by my feelings, I guess you could say I’ve become very sentimental with my writing the part of me that craves to “feel” any kind of strong emotion has eased into this habitual writing of words


Evan: Stand -up comedian and overall hilarity generator

I just have to express ideas. They just come out


Naadirah: author of onechubbyblob and resident cat lady

Writing gives me comfort. When I write I have full control over what I write and how I want to portray a situation. I can make a character as flawed as I want to, I can make the most bizarre alternate universe no one questions because it’s my imagination. Words hold power to influence minds and nurture imagination. What I mean to say, I don’t really know WHY I write or if I’m good at writing but when I write, it’s just me, my imagination and the rest is history.


James: Singer-songwriter and amusing tweeter.

I write because it’s fun!


Dakshika (prefers Dash): Swashbuckler, writer, anime watcher, buckets of awesome.

Like some people have perfect pitch or taste, some people are born with a lot more stories than just theirs in their head and writing is a way to get it all out. It’s a disease, like schizophrenia, voices begging to be unraveled. Hur hur! The trick is to control it so you know, you don’t actually go nuts!


That’s the general gist of it folks (it’s me again now btw), which served to teach you guys some very important lessons:

1. People are different. The sooner we accept that, the sooner the pie (that is life) will bake (turn out) exactly the way we want it to.

2. Writing isn’t as simple as putting pen on paper. That’s part of it (unless you write exclusively on digital paper like MS WORD)  but the thought process behind the writing is literally mind-bending.

And probably some more lessons but I’m kinda too hungry and lazy (really, what did you expect) for me to continue this exposition.

THAT’S ALL FOLKS.

One thought on “Why people write: an insider look into some writer-brain-mind things.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks LGBTQ laws, news, and life.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

