Here’s all the things I thought I’d post last week.

Hi people. So I didn’t post what I said I’d post on Saturday which, at this point, should not surprise anyone. I mean schedules, deadlines, me….Not. A. Good. Combo. At. All.

But let’s track back to what I need to write about here. I’m only going to talk about important events here so forgive me if I skip a week or two in the process of retelling.

On the 28th of October, I attended an event. Wait let’s backtrack. Drexel’s many departments hosts events each week which is usually inviting distinguished professors and the like to present a talk or seminar  on a topic. As an International Area Studies (henceforth referred to IAS) major, my department is the College of Arts and Sciences and there’s usually some kind of culturally significant event happening each week. And I usually try to attend it.

So on the 28th of October was a documentary screening. Which documentary?

12_11_HowToSurviveAPlague_event

How to survive a plague is a documentary about the AIDS crisis that plagued the homosexual community in the 1980s. The whole focus of this documentary is the efforts of homosexual activist groups ACT UP and TAG  to try and raise awareness about the disease.

I was very anxious to watch this actually. I’d already seen ‘The Normal Heart’ the tv movie which was based on the events of this documentary so I was basically dying to see the original source material. ‘The Normal Heart’ was so good so when I saw that this was being screened by the university, I just did an internal backflip in joy.

Watching  the movie was so different from watching any other movie. Why? Cause this movie makes you feel so many things, so many times. One moment you feel hopeful seeing the formation of the activist groups and the next, you feel horrified at the discrimination against homosexuals. It was an amazing eye-opening movie. But unlike the tv movie ‘The Normal Heart’ which focused on the personal lives of the leaders of the activist groups, the documentary focused more the large scale AIDS crisis so while there were instances in the documentary I felt I’d seen before, it was also a completely new angle.

After the movie was Halloween which got pretty crazy but I’m not going to talk about that. It was just another party on just another weekend, the only difference being that people were wearing costumes.  I mean there was guy dressed up as the main character from the Rocky Horror Show.

Then on November 10th I went to another event. It was a talk on how Jewish refugees in the Soviet Union wrote and sang Yiddish songs to express and communicate their feelings about the second world war. It was a talk unlike any other because some of the songs were actually performed during the seminar.

WP_20151119_846

To be fair, I didn’t go into the seminar very enthusiastic. I saw Yiddish and Old and I felt it was going to be boring. I only actually went because attending an event that’s culturally lauded is a requirement our first semester. But then he started singing the songs and I thanked my lucky stars that I’d actually come to the event.

I’ve also being watching Kuroko No Basuke which means Kuroko’s basketball. I’ve been pseudo-binge-watching it (I DO have homework and classes) and right now I’m nearing the end of the third season. Which regrettably is the final season *sad weepy face*.

Overall, it’s been a busy time (granted, that was only three things I wrote about but still) and in between assignments and classes, I’ve been busy. I also discovered Steam two days ago.

Have I been reading? I’ve been trying to. Honest to god, I’ve been trying so hard to make time to read books, and there’s like this duo of books that I got sent from home that’s in Sinhala and I just have been trying and trying and trying but I’ve read like the first 6 pages and that’s it and also I realize that this is one of the longest sentences I’ve ever typed and I ever will and let’s bask in the glory of this moment shall we?

And that is it. Honestly speaking, I’m shocked as to how little time I have for MYSELF. As in no time to read books, no time to listen to music, and the only way I have  time to watch anime is DURING my meals, on my small (relatively compared to my laptop) phone screen. *extra sad weepy face*.

So yeah. That’s college. For me. Basically. (I’m dying. Don’t tell anyone.)

BYE.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks LGBTQ laws, news, and life.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

