The Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag.

So It’s been a while since I’ve posted and in honor of me making it back heroically onto WordPress AND reading, I’m going to do a Book Blog Tag which is how Book Bloggers try and convince outsiders that their lives are the interesting and fun, which they are. As a quasi-book blogger, I would know.

So I found this tag on Emma’s blog, which I love scrolling through and reading and it’s the

Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag.

It’s essentially the Kiss, Marry or Kill edition for books. You pick three books at random from all the books you’ve read and you assign one book for each category: Burn, Rewrite or Reread. I’m gonna go through my Goodreads book shelf and, while you only have to do three rounds as per the rules dictate, I’m going to *challenge* myself and do 5.

Round 1.

 Things Fall Apart   After Dark Swimming in the Monsoon Sea

As luck would have it, I drew three books I really liked. UGH.
Also, burning ANY book is too extreme, even if said books feature sparkling vampires and the like. But it is a challenge so:
I would reread Things Fall apart cause I kinda rushed through it the first time.
I would rewrite Swimming in the Monsoon Sea cause it kinda bored me
And I would burn After Dark because it creeped me out. But it’s an amazing book.

Round 4

  My Drunk Kitchen: A Guide to Eating, Drinking, and Going with Your Gut The Intern

I would reread My Drunk Kitchen endlessly because it was such a fun book to read even though I don’t cook.
I would rewrite The Angle of Incidence because it’s written in a Scottish brogue and it made understanding it difficult (but I really liked it)
And I would burn The Intern because it’s shallow, cheap and downright gloriously and morbidly fascinating and a bit of a guilty pleasure.

Round 3

The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, #1) The Giniralla Conspiracy ; Five Journals of Sujatha Mallika The Hungry Ghosts

Shit. This challenge is unfair.

I would burn The Red Pyramid because compared to the other two, it made the smallest impression on my life (but I still enjoyed it so much)
I would….rewrite The Giniralla Conspiracy to make it less of a one time read thing.
And I would reread The Hungry Ghosts over and over and over. C’est beau.

Round 4.

Captain Corelli's Mandolin Dragon Rider (Dragon Rider, #1) Kill Your Darlings

No I didn’t choose these ones because they’re blue. They were chosen at random by a goo ol’ session of close-eyed mouse wiggling.

I would reread Dragon Rider because it is so darn enjoyable and rereadable so much.
I would rewrite Kill Your Darlings because it gets tedious sometimes (but it was one of the best books I read last year)
And I would burn Captain Correlli’s Mandolin not because I didn’t enjoy it enough but because it made me so sad and happy and I want it to be MY book and not have anyone share in the glorious pleasure of reading it.

Round 5 aka, THE FINALE

The Goldfinch The Memory Keeper's Daughter Colpetty People

So this list is a little easier. But still doesn’t have any clear cut winners/losers.

I would reread The Goldfinch because it sorta went over my head due to its sheer size.
I would rewrite Colpetty People in that I would alter the sequence the short stories are ordered so it becomes more cohesive as a short story collection
And I would burn The Memory Keeper’s Daughter out of revenge because it made my stone heart die.

 


 

And that is that fellow bloggers/readers/people who found this on google due to some happy accident of a search.
The challenge is complete and while tagging others and forcing them to do something is always such fun, I leave this open to any and all (which means no one will probably take even the slightest interest in this post).

Bon Appetit! (I’m about to have dinner)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

