2016

2016 has come and gone faster than … *insert appropriate analogy*

That’s how well my brain is keeping up by the way, my usually amazing (if I do say so myself) analogies are eluding me and I have to resort to asterisked blahs to get some mediocre humor going on.

Oh well. Anyway, back to the whole 2016 issue.

2016 was a big year for me and a lot of people around me. Kylie Jenner famously said 2016 would be the year of realizing things and while I don’t put much stock in the opinions of reality stars, I do have to agree with her on that. In all my 21 years of life (OMG I can’t believe I’m 21), there’s hasn’t been a year that’s been more hard-hitting with the universal truths as 2016 has been.

Truth number 1: You will get hurt. Over and over and over. You will leave everything on the line, get your hopes up and be dismally heartbroken when what you hope for doesn’t come to pass. It’s a part of life, that you get hurt, and this year I finally realized that people don’t stop hurting.

Truth number 2: There’s no place like home. Home. I came to America in Fall 2015 and was filled with wide-eyed wonder at this great big mess of a country. But 2016 rolls around and all the homesickness rolls in with it. I spent a veritable 3 weeks of my first semester of 2016 (way back in January) engulfed in daze of homesickness-fueled dullness. But then I went back for summer and basked in the glory of being home and contrary to my belief that I’d uprooted my life successfully to Philadelphia, I still very much found that I was rooted back home. And I realized that’s not a bad thing.

Truth number 3: If you don’t work, you don’t get anything. Having coursed through high school doing the bare minimum in terms of studying, I tried to extend that work pattern in college to disastrous consequences both during my Winter quarter of freshman year this most recent fall quarter of sophomore year.

Truth number 4: No one can make me do something I don’t want to do. This comes with advantages and drawbacks. No one can force me to do anything or persuade me to do anything that I don’t want to do. I found that I hold a frightening level of control over my life and that only I, get to make decisions in my life. This may be a head-scratcher for some of you out there but believe me, I realized this fact only this past year. So in terms of someone trying to change me by way bullying, peer pressure or trying to pressure me into drugs or drinking, I’m not going to give in easy. The bad side of this is work: motivation becomes an issue when I’m this strongly inclined to follow what I want.

Truth number 5: Best friends really do save you. They know who they are and if they don’t I’m going to make sure they do. I went through something really bad during spring of 2016 and if it weren’t for my best friends, in America, back home as well as Australia, China, UK and Dubai, I would not have recovered as fast as I did.

I learned several other minor things too but overall, the above five things are the things that I feel I need to put out there. These five things have led me to re-evaluate who I am, where I’m heading and a lot of other stuff about myself.


 

2016 was also special in that I read, watched and listened to a lot of things that I feel impacted my life more than I could have ever imagined. At the time I was experiencing them I may not have realized their importance but afterwards, they left lasting impressions on me. Here are some of them.

 

Books

 

Music

 

 

TV

 

 

Anime

 

share


 

I obviously watched, listened to, and read many other things but the ones mentioned above stuck with me. Look them up, they’re all pretty amazing. That does it with my 2016 recap, I’ll get back to you with a 2017 look-see. Till, then. Kick butt and conquer!

3 thoughts on “2016

Add yours

  1. A very interesting insight into your life in 2016!! From heart ache, to not giving into peer pressure; you’ve shared a lot. And speaking of friends; my friends go beyond borders, as well.
    Interesting collection of books; which one, out of the four, do you recommend the most?
    And speaking of Home; you’ve mentioned you’ve moved to America; but where is home????

    Like

    1. Which one I’d recommend the most? Gosh that’s a hard one. I’d say read them all, they’re pretty great. If I had to pick one, well, I’d go with the Gilded Razor but Noontide Toll follows very close behind. As for where home is, I’m from Kandy 🙂
      Thanks for the look-see on my post Nuwan.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

TPG

gay lawyer talks gay problems.

A collection of jumbled thoughts that you should probably read.

Nadisha. 19. Sri Lanka. Architecture student. Avid eater. Avid reader. Wannabe avid writer?

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Just A Sack Of Star Stuff

Ramblings of a random teenager

Scribe's Canvas

A place for a little bit of everything

COMPELLING STORIES ON THE GO

Provide real time stories to people combined with the latest news and analysis

The Pantless Anime Blogger

Reaching For 1,000 Anime Reviews.

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

trips and what not

#tripsandwhatnot

tacosinyourtwenties.wordpress.com/

SHOULD I BE EATING THIS OR APPLYING FOR A.. WAIT WHERES THE GUAC???

The Lit Mermaid

books & other loves in between

It Started in Oxford

Lifestyle posts from a Brit in Georgia

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Jessa Quinn

Jessa reads... everything.

The Feck it Philosophy

Writing, short stories, poems, creative writing, novels, novel, poetry

joieangela

Books. Adventures. Celebrations.

The Novelty of Life

If reading is your passion

Stoop kid confessions (Vogue Giambri)

Just a NYC girl afraid to leave her stoop

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

Avoiding Neverland

A nomadic teacher's thoughts on preparing teens for life

one chubby blob

One chubby blob voices her opinions among the millions that have already been heard.

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

THE OBSESSIVE WRITER

Because life is too overrated to ignore

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

One Name A Day

Zeeshan Amit

